Golf and football unite at La Manga Club for The Footballers’ Golf Classic

Almost 200 people will congregate at La Manga Club from 5th to 8th June for one of the Golf Classic events held at the resort. There will be two tournaments, the individual, in which British golfing enthusiasts will take to the greens, and in the team competition former British footballers will participate in what is the 20th occasion on which the event has taken place at La Manga Club.

La Manga Club, 5th June 2016. The Footballers’ Golf Classic has been celebrated at La Manga Club for 19 years. Forty three famous British former footballers, many of whom have played for their country on the world stage of international football, will take part on this occasion, which will be the 20th edition of the event.

Each footballer will play in a team of their own with three other participants, hence creating a total of 43 teams, and compete over the four days. Sunday 5th June will see the individual contest for the Alan Bull Trophy, whilst on Monday and Tuesday the two rounds of the main team tournament will take place, and on Wednesday the final of the main tournament will be held. The rounds played on Sunday and Monday will be contested on the South Course, whilst on Tuesday and Wednesday the tournament will be played on the North Course. There will also be a gala dinner and an awards ceremony.

Below are the names of the British former footballers (and some of the clubs they played for) who will be arriving at La Manga Club to participate in the Footballers Golf Classic this year:

Steve Lomas

Man City&West Ham

Andy Dibble

Man City&Wales

David Gibson

Leicester&Exeter City

Mike England


Ray Clemence

Liverpool, Tottenham&England

Paul Miller


John Lacy


David Speedie


Luther Blissett

Watford, Inter Milan&England

Gary Owen

Manchester City

Graham Roberts


Wally Downes


Teddy Maybank

Chelsea&PSV Eindhoven

Sean McCarthy


Paul Walsh

Liverpool, Tottenham&England

Alan McInally

Aston Villa&Bayern Munich

Kevin Davies


Liam Brady

Arsenal&Inter Milán&Juventus

Lee Hendrie

Aston Villa&England

Graham Sharp


Perry Digweed


Andy Legg


Darius Vassell

Aston Villa&Man City

Danny Wilson

Sheffield Wednesday

Pat Jennings

Tottenham&Northern Ireland

Russell Osman


Steve Daley

Manchester&San Diego Sockers

Derek Mountfield

Everton&Aston Villa

Steve Lovell


Frank McLintock


Dave Bassett


Chris Nicholl


Mark Wright


Paul Jewell


Kenny Hibbit


Andy Morrison

Man City&Huddersfield

Jason Dood


Gary Shaw

Aston Villa

Fraser McLachlan

Nantwich Town

Kenny Dalglish

Liverpool FC

Dave Beasant

Chelsea & Stevenage FC

Dave Thomas


Brian Stein

Luton Town&St Albans City