12 Noviembre 2019

Skanderborg new Kings of Denmark at ECL20

Only a few months ago, V.O.C. Rotterdam from the Netherlands were crowned Kings of European cricket when they won the first edition of the European Cricket League (ECL) in spectacular fashion in La Manga, Spain.

And the second-staging of the tournament - ECL20 - promises to be even bigger and better. Due to huge interest and demand for the competition, ECL20 will expand its number of champion teams - spread over eight days of exciting fast-paced T10 action. Naturally, the “Kings of Europe”, V.O.C. Rotterdam will return to defend their magnificent trophy between May 31 and June 7, 2020. 

For many decades, Denmark has traditionally been a powerhouse of cricket in Northern Europe. And Skanderborg Cricket Club will be Denmark’s ECL20 representatives after winning the Danish T20 title beating ECL19 semi-finalists Svanholm CC in their domestic final.

Skanderborg CC was founded way back in 1898 by English rail workers who were building the train tracks from Skanderborg to Aarhus at the time. Over the years “The Stingrays” have fielded some serious cricketing talent in their ranks, such as the Australian fast-bowler Ben Edmondson and Richard Sherlock from New Zealand. Current captain is Michael Pedersen, a former stalwart and skipper of the Danish national team, while star all-rounder Anders Bulow will warm up for ECL20 with another season of grade cricket in Tasmania, Australia.

“The Stingrays” can also currently boast the youngest president in the club’s (and ECL) history in the shape of 25-year-old Chris Kleis Rasmussen. 

“We have a “Skanderborg Song” that we sing after every win,” said Kleis Rasmussen.

“We play for each other on the field, but off the field the social aspect of cricket is a very high priority at our club. The DNA of our club has attracted some of the best players from the country and also rising new talent.”

We welcome Denmark’s Skanderborg Cricket Club to the 2020 European Cricket League.