30 janvier 2020

CIYMS - Champions Ireland Yearn More Success at European Cricket League

CIYMS (Church of Ireland Young Men’s Society) is based in Belfast, Northern Ireland and won an historic domestic treble last season, including the Sunday Independent All-Ireland T20 Cup, which paved their way to ECL qualification.

“While CIYMS cricketers are no doubt elite, their club is proud and their local community is strong, which is what the ECL stands for. CIYMS will be a force to be reckoned with on and off the field at ECL20,” said European Cricket League Founder Daniel Weston.

CIYMS will be boosted by captain Nigel Jones, Allen Coulter, Jacob Mulder, James Cameron-Dow, Mark Adair, Chris Dougherty and Jason van der Merwe all committing again to the club for 2020.

Adair, Mulder and Cameron-Dow have recently all starred for Ireland, who of course have full ICC member status. Adair impressed with six wickets at Lords last summer on his test debut against England, while spin twins Mulder and Cameron-Dow each broke bowling records with their wicket taking exploits last season.

CIYMS have also snapped up Migael Pretorius as their overseas professional for next year. The 24-year-old South African has recent winning T10 experience from the Abu Dhabi League as a key member of the successful Arabians side.

Over the last decade, further international stars have worn the CIYMS colours with pride, including Kiwi Craig McMillan, new South African test batsman Rassie van Der Dussen and countryman Justin Kemp.

“2019 was the most successful season in the history of CIYMS CC and all of our guys are really looking forward to this exciting new challenge,” said chairman Richard Heasley.

“Over the last decade we have collected a number of league and cup trophies within the Northern Cricket Union and last season at national level. We are thrilled to be invited to take our chance on the international stage and meet the best in Europe at ECL20.”

With the champion clubs of England, Scotland and now Ireland added to the mix, the second-staging of the tournament - ECL20 - promises to be even bigger and better. Due to huge interest and demand for the competition, ECL20 will double its number of champion teams to 16, spread over eight days of exciting fast-paced T10 action.